Site Loader

I know where you can get more. But you have to wait until September 6th. That’s 4 days before I get hitched, by the way. Poor little book keeps getting overshadowed.

Anyway, until I get around to writing something new for this site, how about you read something I already wrote over on another site? The first chapter from Everything I Need to Know I Learned From Dungeons & Dragons has been posted for your reading pleasure. At least I hope it’s pleasurable.

Read it here.

Ta ta for now!

Shelly Mazzanoble

7 Replies to “If You Like This…”

  1. Dear Shelly,

    Ahh! I am about to have a nerdgasm! Thanks so much for posting it! Can’t wait to read the whole thing. I bet I’ll read it before that ted guy…

  2. Okay, I read the first chapter, and I love the approach. The self help framework not only sounds interesting, but it’s SOO true! As an English teacher, I can tell you that D&D is probably the most effective vocabulary builder I can think of (why else would a kid look up the word “contingency”?), and it definitely sharpened my math skills. I credit the game for much of my language and math knowledge base, and as an educator I will also say that if it wasn’t called Dungeons and Dragons and we played it in school, the muckety mucks of learning would laud it as an incredible breakthrough in cognitive skills stimulation; it would be curriculum.

    Sadly, no. I am not going to Gen Con. I’ve actually never been to any D&D/gaming convention of any kind. Our people (gamers and fantasy afficcionados) sometimes tend to scare me a bit with their enthusiasm. However, I have a brother who lives in Seattle. Are you doing any book signings in the Washington area? If I knew I would get to meet you, I just might shell out the cash on a plane ticket to come and hang with you.

  3. I loved your first book so much so I’m really excited about this one. I might just go ahead and have my own launch party. Or I might buy it while I’m at Yale performing a Humorous Interpretation of the first book. Nah, book launch party. It comes first.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to This Fine Blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to this fine blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.